Brave New Radio Wins Best College Station

Other WPU students also took home awards. STORY UPDATES TO FOLLOW


Mac Ireland

Ryan Doyle, Editor-In-Chief

At the Intercollegiate Broadcasting Service Awards held in New York City, William Paterson’s WP 88.7 Brave New Radio brought home the trophy for best radio station in the country.

According to Brave New Radio’s website the station has been nominated for this category four times in the last five years, and this is the first time since 2013 that the station has won the award.

William Paterson came out on top of Central Washington University, Indiana University, Marshall University and Appalachian State University.

Along with winning the award for best station, Brave New Radio’s Dylan Burns and Mason Mills took home the award for best pre-/post-game report.

Burns and Mills were a part of another award earned by William Paterson. WPTV-6’s WP Sports Desk won the “Best Sports Report Award.” Producer Wyatt Kalb, Burns, Justin McHugh, Chris Johnson and Dante Vocaturo were all a part of the award-winning segment.

Here is the original story on all of the nominees. Being nominated is a feat within itself. Congratulations to all of those who were honored at the event.